Japan Names 158 Remote Islands

Japan names 158 remote islandsThe Japanese government has announced the official names of 158 uninhabited remote islands to govern them more properly, including 5 of the Senkaku Islands in the East China Sea.

There are about 500 remote islands and islets that serve as the basis for setting the boundaries of Japan's territorial waters, but 158 of them have been unnamed.

The government decided to call 2 of the Senkaku Islands in Okinawa Prefecture Nanto-kojima, and 3 others Nansei-kojima, Higashi-kojima and Seihokusei-kojima.

Japan controls the Senkaku Islands. China and Taiwan claim them.

The government chose the official names partly with an eye on China's growing maritime presence, including in the East China Sea, and posted them on the website of the Headquarters for Ocean Policy on Friday.

In 2012, the government officially named 4 of the Senkaku Islands that serve as the basis for setting the boundaries for Japan's exclusive economic zone. China sharply criticized the move.