Rugby World Cup To Open In Japan

Rugby World Cup to open in Japan

The Rugby World Cup opens in Japan on Friday. It's the first time the tournament will be held in Asia.

The competition will continue through November 2, with a total of 48 matches scheduled at 12 venues.

Twenty teams will take part in the pool stage.

Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Russia, and Samoa are in Pool A.

New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Namibia, and Canada are in Pool B.

England, France, Argentina, the United States, and Tonga are in Pool C.

Australia, Wales, Georgia, Fiji, and Uruguay are in Pool D.

The opening match between Japan and Russia kicks off at a stadium in Tokyo at 7:45 p.m., local time, on Friday. Japan ranks 10th in the world while Russia 20th.

Japan is aiming to be among the final eight squads for the first time ever. It upset South Africa in the previous World Cup in England.

New Zealand is setting its sights on becoming the first team to win a third straight World Cup. Its match against South Africa on Saturday is one of the most awaited in the pool stage.