Msdf Sends First Vessel To China In 7 Years

MSDF sends first vessel to China in 7 years

Japan's Maritime Self-Defense Force has sent a vessel to China for the first time in more than seven years in a sign of improving relations between the two countries.

The destroyer Suzutsuki arrived in the port city of Qingdao in Shandong Province on Sunday ahead of an international naval review that will be held on Tuesday to mark the 70th anniversary of the Chinese Navy.

Kumamoto Marks 3 Years After Major Quakes

Kumamoto marks 3 years after major quakes

More than 16,000 people are still living in temporary housing three years after a series of devastating earthquakes began in and around Japan's southwestern prefecture of Kumamoto on April 14, 2016.

Kumamoto prefectural officials say 16,519 people in 7,304 households were residing in temporary units as of the end of March. The figure is down about 65 percent from the peak of more than 47,000.

People Train For Disaster 3 Years After Big Quake

People train for disaster 3 years after big quake

People in Uki City, Kumamoto Prefecture, have renewed their preparedness for natural disasters one day before the third anniversary of the deadly quake that hit the region.

About 80 people, including Buddhist monks from nearby temples, gathered at a public hall in the city on Saturday. They first observed a moment of silence to mourn the victims.

Concert Held To Mark Emperor's 30 Years On Throne

Concert held to mark Emperor's 30 years on throne

A concert was held on Tuesday to celebrate Emperor Akihito's 30 years on the throne and the 60th anniversary of the imperial couple's wedding.

Emperor Akihito and Empress Michiko attended the event, which was held at a concert hall in the East Gardens of the Imperial Palace.

Nissan To Celebrate 50 Years Of Z And Gt-r In New York With Special Models

Nissan to celebrate 50 years of Z and GT-R in New York with special models

The 2019 New York International Auto Show is only a few weeks away. While we won't really know what's in store until the show doors open at the Javits Center in Manhattan, expect a whole slew of teasers in the next few weeks. One of the first out of the gate is Nissan with a single image that has us excited for what's in store. The Japanese automaker plans to celebrate 50 years of performance with some special versions of the Nissan 370Z and Nissan GT-R in its "Dream Garage."

There are eight cars in the photo: one Datsun 240Z atop a new 370Z; two R34 Skyline GT-Rs atop a pair of new R35 GT-Rs; one 1973 Skyline GT-R (fewer than 200 were built over a single model year) atop a third R35 GT-R. The Z and GT-R both made their debuts 50 years ago in 1969. It's a bit difficult to tell with the shadows, but each car on the bottom row appears to mirror the paint scheme of its partner on the top. We're particularly excited for the bright blue Calsonic livery to appear on a modern GT-R.

Ceremonies Mark Eight Years Since 2011 Disaster

Ceremonies mark eight years since 2011 disaster

People in Japan are attending memorial services to mark eight years since a major earthquake, tsunami and nuclear accident hit the northeast of the country.

Hundreds of thousands of lives were changed and many people are still coping with the aftermath.

Lexus Reaches 10 Million Sales Since Its Inception 30 Years Ago

Lexus reaches 10 million sales since its inception 30 years ago

Almost immediately after Matt Farah's famed second-generation LS400 became the million-mile Lexus, the Japanese luxury brand is celebrating another major milestone: Lexus has now sold 10 million vehicles globally.

The Toyota luxury division, whose first car debuted 30 years ago at the 1989 North American International Auto Show in Detroit, famously pursued "perfection" when it came to build quality and ownership experience. The smooth, V8-engined LS400 was quickly followed by smaller additions to the lineup, and in the time Lexus has been around, it has sold a wide range of vehicles, from the Camry-related ES line and Land Cruiser-related SUVs to the LFA supercar.

Ceremony Marks 30 Years Of Emperor's Reign

Ceremony marks 30 years of Emperor's reign

A ceremony to celebrate 30 years of Emperor Akihito's reign has been held in Tokyo, with the attendance of the Imperial couple.

Prime Minister Shinzo Abe, the Speaker and President of both chambers of the Diet, the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, members of the Diet, representatives of businesses and foreign ambassadors to Japan also attended Sunday's event at the National Theatre.

Stamps Mark 30 Years Since Emperor's Enthronement

Stamps mark 30 years since Emperor's enthronement

Post offices around Japan are selling stamps to mark the 30th anniversary of Emperor Akihito's enthronement.

There are two designs available, both included in sheets of 10 stamps. One image features a crane and a turtle, and the other chrysanthemum flowers. The motifs are based on kimonos worn by the Emperor when he was young.

Real Wages Up In 2018 For 1st Time In 2 Years

Real wages up in 2018 for 1st time in 2 years

Average monthly wages in Japan adjusted for inflation rose in 2018 for the first time in two years. But critics say the results are skewed.

The release of the preliminary figures by the labor ministry on Friday follows the recent revelation that improper methods were used to conduct the survey.